Last updated: July 31, 2022
We want satisfied customers, not hostages. That’s why we make it easy for you to cancel your group directly in all of our apps–no phone calls required, no questions asked.
Group owners can follow these instructions to cancel in-app:
If you have a paid subscription for your GroupNews group, open the menu in the top right corner of your group’s workspace, and select “Options” in the “Group Settings” section. On the Options page, scroll down to “Danger Zone”, then click “Delete This Group.” You can continue using your group until your paid period expires and your group is automatically canceled. If you haven’t paid for GroupNews, you can directly close your group from the Group Options section.
Our legal responsibility is to group owners, which means we cannot cancel a group at the request of anyone else. If for whatever reason you no longer know who the group owner is, contact us. We will gladly reach out to any current group owners at the email addresses we have on file.
What happens when you cancel?
In the case of trial GroupNews groups, you won’t be able to access your group once you cancel, so make sure you download everything you want to keep beforehand. If you have a paid GroupNews group, you can cancel your subscription and keep using your group until your paid period expires. Then the group will be automatically cancelled and will become inaccessible.
We’ll permanently delete your group data 30 days after cancellation from our servers and logs, and within 60 days from our backups. Retrieving data for a single group from a backup isn’t possible, so if you change your mind you’ll need to do it within the first 30 days after cancellation. Data can’t be recovered once it has been permanently deleted.
We won’t bill you again once you cancel. We don’t automatically prorate any unused time you may have left but if you haven’t used your group in months or just started a new billing cycle, contact us for a fair refund. We’ll treat you right.
GroupNews initiated cancellations
We may cancel groups that have have been inactive for an extended period.
- For trial groups:
- After 90 days if it has reached its trial limitations and has had no subsequent group activity.
- For paid groups
- 180 days after being frozen due to billing failures.
We also retain the right to suspend or terminate groups for any reason at any time, as outlined in our Terms of Service. In practice, this generally means we will cancel your group without notice if we have evidence that you are using our products to engage in abusive behavior.